“Blur” was released on this day in 1997

As was the case with many folks my age, Blur’s 1997 self-titled release was my introduction to the band, and I can focus that very specific entry-point to “Song 2″‘s appearance on Big Shiny Tunes 2 here in Canada.  A collection of music that year that is one of the first five CDs I’ve ever owned in my life.  I was in the end surprised that the rest of this album was not just a rehash of all the expectations tied into the fun that was “Song 2”, but something more, and weird, and different.  It took me a while to appreciate, but I got there, and have been ever more grateful for it.

[via Wikipedia]

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

